UI, UNILAG, OAU, others get Governing Boards

Written by Alao Abiodun

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the dissolution and reconstitution of the governing boards of Ibadan University, Port Harcourt University, Lagos University, Obafemi Awolowo University of Ile-Ife and Delta Maritime University.

This is contained in the statement of Mr. Sonny Echon, Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Education on Thursday.

He noted that the governing councils of five universities in Abuja will be inaugurated by the Minister of Education of Malam Adam Adam on April 19.

The statement lists members of the new UI council as head of Odigie Oyegun, chairman; Mr. Masud Kazaure, Abba Yaro, Alhaji Abubakar Maikafi and Mr. Emeka Nwagbo as members.

“For UNIPORT, the members of the board are Senator Andrew Uchendu as chairman, while Mr. Kolo Uzamat is Cdre. DT Hinga, Mohammed Makarfi and Ahmed Al-Mustapha are members.

“For UNILAG dr. Lanre Tejuosho is the chairman, and dr. Aminu Ahmed, Ph.D. Uro Gardner, Chief Chinedu Adindi and Mr. Mustafa Salihu as members.

“Also, the OAU has a chairman, Oscar Udoji, and the members are Captain Bala Jibrin, Mr. Eugene Odo, Ph.D. Lateef Babata and Alhaji Saidu Bako.

“Nigerian Maritime University Okerenkoko in Delta has Dr. Elias Curson as chairman, and Mr. Nelson Alapa, Mr. Victor Giadon, Alhaji Bello Dukku and Mr. Godwin Ananghe,” it adds.