South Africa names tailors Dupavillon, Baartman for test tour in Pakistan

South Africa has included unlimited seamstresses Daryn Dupavillon and Ottniel Baartman in an extended 21-man test team for their first return to Pakistan at 14 years later this month.

South Africa will play tests in Karachi and Rawalpindi starting on January 26, and will also welcome fast bowler Kagis Rabadi and versatile Dwaine Pretorius, as well as spinners Tabraiz Shamsi and George Linde.

“Given that the conditions they will face are mostly unknown to the South African team, we wanted to step up the attack with a set of skills that Tabraiz Shamsi and George Linde must offer, while giving players like Daryn Dupavillon and Ottniel Baartman a chance after making strong cases for themselves in recent seasons. , ”Coach selector Victor Mpitsang said in a media edition from Cricket South Africa on Friday.

The team will be led by captain Quinton de Kock as they beat the 2-0 home series over Sri Lanka that concluded on Tuesday. The team will travel to Pakistan on January 15 and enter the quarantine period in Karachi before the start of training and matches within training. The decision to take an extended composition provides coverage in case of COVID-19 infections or injuries, provided that a quarantine period is required which means that replacements cannot be made in the short term.

International cricket has returned to Pakistan in the past 16 months after a militant attack on a Sri Lankan team bus in Lahore in 2009 that killed six police officers and two civilians. The country has hosted Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Zimbabwe since September 2019, while England recently announced a short series of two 20-match matches in October in preparation for the T20 World Cup in India.

Squad: Quinton de Kock (captain), Temba Bavuma, Aiden Markram, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Kagiso Rabada, Dwaine Pretorius, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Rassie van der Dussen, Anrich Nortje, Wiaan Mulder, Lutho Sipamricks, Beuran Kyle Verreynne, Sarel Erwee, Keegan Petersen, Tabraiz Shamsi, George Linde, Daryn Dupavillon, Ottniel Baartman.