FY reconstitutes the governing councils of 5 federal universities –

President Muhammadu Buhari

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the dissolution and reconstitution of the Governing Councils of five federal universities in Nigeria.

The universities affected are the University of Ibadan (UI), the University of Port Harcourt (UNIPORT), the University of Lagos (UNILAG), the Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU) of Ile-Ife and the Maritime University of Delta.

The approval is contained in the statement of Mr. Sonny Echon, Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Education in Abuja on Thursday.

Echono named the members of the new UI council as the head of Odigie Oyegun, the chairman; Mr. Masud Kazaure, Abba Yaro, Alhaji Abubakar Maikafi and Mr. Emeka Nwagbo as members.

“For UNIPORT, the members of the board are Senator Andrew Uchendu as chairman, while Mr. Kolo Uzamat is Cdre. DT Hinga, Mohammed Makarfi and Ahmed Al-Mustapha are members.

“For UNILAG dr. Lanre Tejuosho is the chairman, and dr. Aminu Ahmed, Ph.D. Uro Gardner, Chief Chinedu Adindi and Mr. Mustafa Salihu as members.

“Also, the OAU has a chairman, Oscar Udoji, and the members are Captain Bala Jibrin, Mr. Eugene Odo, Ph.D. Lateef Babata and Alhaji Saidu Bako.

“Nigerian Maritime University Okerenkoko in Delta has Dr. Elias Curson as chairman, and Mr. Nelson Alapa, Mr. Victor Giadon, Alhaji Bello Dukku and Mr. Godwin Ananghe,” he said.

The Permanent Secretary said that the Minister of Education of Malam, Adam Adam, will officially open the ruling councils of five universities on April 19 in Abuja.

He ordered the vice chancellors of the affected universities to attend the inauguration ceremony.