Bukhari dissolves, reconstructs the governing councils of AI, UNILAG and three others – Television Channels

Photograph of the main file of the gate of Ibadan University in the state of Oyo.

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the dissolution of the Governing Councils of Ibadan University (UI) in the state of Oyo and four other federal universities in the country.

These are the University of Lagos (UNILAG), Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU), Ile-Ife in Osun State, Port Harcourt University (UNIPORT) in Rivers State and Nigerian Maritime University, Okerenkoko in Delta State.

The president also approved the reconstitution of the governing councils of the affected universities, Federal Secretary of Education Permanent Secretary Sonny Echono announced in a statement Thursday in Abuja.

According to the statement, the governing council of the University of Ibadan is now the former national president of the Congress of All Progressives (APC) Odigie Oyegun for president, while dr. Masud Kazaure, Abba Yaro, Abubakar Maikafi and Emeka Nwagbo members. .

Similarly, Dr. Lanre Tejuosho is the Chairman of the Board of Directors of UNILAG, and the members are Dr. Aminu Ahmed, Ph.D. Uro Gardner, Chinedu Adindi and Mustafa Salihu.

The Board of Directors of OAU is chaired by Oscar Udoji, while its members are Captain Bala Jibrin, Eugene Odo, dr. Lateef Babata and Saidu Bako.

For UNIPORT, the board members are Kolo Uzamat, Commodore DT Hinga, Mohammed Makarfi and Ahmed Al-Mustapha, while Senator Andrew Uchendu is the chairman.

At the Nigerian Maritime University, Dr. Elias Courson also has a board chairman, and Nelson Alapa, Victor Giadono, Bello Dukku and Godwin Ananghe.

Echono noted that Education Minister Adam Adam will inaugurate the chairmen and board members of the five universities on April 19.

He added that the vice-rectors of the affected universities are expected to attend the inauguration ceremony to be held in the state capital.

Read the full statement below: