Avalanches announce 20th anniversary of “Since I Left You”

Avalanches will mark the 20th anniversary of their debut album ‘Since I Left You’ with the release of a luxury release this June.

Published in Australia in 2000, and in the United States and the United Kingdom in 2001, “Since I Left You” was hailed as a border-crossing edition consisting of over 900 individual samples.

The upcoming deluxe release, coming out on June 4, features a host of additional bonus tracks, including previously unreleased and fresh remixes of the late MF DOOM, Black Dice, Leon Vynehall, Sinkane and Carl Craig to name a few. The CD version will also feature some of the remixes of The Avalanches on Belle & Sebastian, Manic Street Preachers, Franz Ferdinand and others.

The jubilee edition will be released in three formats, vinyl, CD and digital, and will feature 33, 39 and 33 songs. More information on the complete playlists can be found below.

Listen to Prince Paul’s remix ‘Since I Left You’ below:

In a press release, Robbie Chater – who along with Tony Di Blasi is still in the original lineup – said for the album, “I remember very clearly a few things -” we decided it didn’t have any of our voices on it, which made it the last because it is a kind of transmission; nothing it signifies for that time.

“Music lovers understand that and that’s what we are, after all. It’s almost like exploring our relationship with the world and with music.

“Looking back, I’m proud of this album as a pure expression of joy and love, heart up my sleeve and no irony.”

In addition, The Avalanches have also announced that they have been confirmed as the Luminary Artists Residence for the Illuminate Adelaide in their native Australia, a new event that will celebrate innovations in music, art and light this July.

As part of his residence, Lavine will perform ‘Since I Left You’ on July 30 with the Adelaide Symphony Orchestra, tickets are available here.

The list of new remixes on the 20th anniversary of “Since I Leaf You” is:

1. Since I left you (Cornelius Remix)
2. It must take my whole life tonight (Edan Remix)
3. Frontier Psychiatrist (85% Remix Maria Caldatoa Jr.)
4. Close To You (Sun Araw Remix)
5. Since I Left You (Stereolab Remix)
6. Flight tonight (travel agency Canyons Dub)
7. Radio (Sinkane Remix)
8. Since I Left You (Prince Paul Remix)
9. Electricity (Harvey’s Nightclub Re-Edit)
10. Summer crane (Black Dice Remix)
11. Extra Kings (Deakin Remix)
12. My life must last tonight (MF DOOM Remix)
13. Tonight it must take my whole life (pulled by Leon Vynehall)
14. A Different Feeling (Carl Craig’s Paperclip People Remix)
15. Thank you Caroline (original avalanche tape)