2023: Akeredolu will give us direction – Deputy Governor

Mr Lucky Aiyedatiwa, deputy governor of Ondo State, says Governor Oluwarotimi Akeredolu will instruct the state on who will run for the 2023 Congress of All Progressives (APC) presidential candidate.

Aiyedatiwa made the announcement Thursday in a statement made available to reporters by Mr. Oladipupo Okunniga, special assistance to the governor for new media.

He said this as he received the leaders of the Southwest Agenda for Asiwaja (SWAGA) 2023 on behalf of the governor.

The Nigeria News Agency (NAN) reports that SWAGA is one of the groups advocating for the emergence of APC national leader, Asiwaju Bol Tinubu as Nigeria’s next president.

Aiyedatiwa, who praised the group, called SWAGA a “big movement”.

He also described Tinubu as a friend of the Ondo state and a nationalist who accepts everything regardless of ethnic-religious background, an attribute a new president must possess to unite Nigeria.

“The national leader of the APC, Asiwaju Tinubu, is a phenomenal leader of leaders whose records are available to everyone.

“I am a man in power, we have only one vote of our governor (Akeredolu), he is the one who can speak or make a statement.

“But I can assure you (SWAGA) that the state of Ondo will not be passive.

“We will be very active in the process leading to the emergence of APC candidates in the 2023 presidential election and the actual election,” Aiyedatiwa said.

Earlier, the group, led by national chairman, Senator Dayo Adeyeye, said it was the South’s turn to produce the president in 2023.

Adeyeye, who explained that zoning the highest office would encourage national unity, said every part of the country should get a sense of belonging.

“The rotation of power is an alliance between us, hence the need to redirect power to the south,” he said.

Prominent leaders in the team were also Vice President, Senator Rilwan Akanbi, Senator Tony Adeniyi, Mr. Abiodun Akinlade, Mr. Ifedayo Abegunde, Princess Ayo Omidiran and Mr. Oye Ojo.

The others were Mr. Oloruntoba Oke, Mr. Rotimi Makinde, Mr. Bayo Sanwo-Olu, Mr. Deji Jakande, Mr. Lanre Odubote, Kenny St Brown and others.

Vanguard News Nigeria